Boyle McCauley News

Since 1979 • October-November 2023 • Circulation 5000


Kerry Diotte Elected MP for Edmonton-Griesbach

Kerry Diotte Dave Cournoyer / Flickr Creative Commons

Conservative Kerry Diotte was elected Member of Parliament for Edmonton-Griesbach in the federal election on October 19.

Diotte, a former Edmonton City Councillor, won with 19,109 votes. In second place was the NDP’s Janis Irwin, with 16,298. Irwin’s campaign spanned the better part of two years, and she was considered a serious contender for the seat. Brian Gold, with the Liberals, came in third with 10,377.

In addition to the three major parties, a number of candidates from other political parties also ran in the riding, most notably Heather Workman with the Green Party (1,121 votes). Other parties included Libertarian, Rhinoceros, Marxist-Leninist, and Radical Marijuana.

Edmonton-Griesbach includes the neighbourhoods of Boyle Street and McCauley. There was no incumbent as previous MP Peter Goldring announced that he would not be running in this election.

Subscribe to our newsletter

News from the neighbourhood delivered straight to your inbox. Sign up and stay in touch!